Ask An Heiress: Lunchtime Apprehensions

18 Jul

Dear Bieber Heiress,

I’m going to be a freshman at a totally new school next year. A new city, new district you know the whole package. I don’t know anyone that goes to that school and like I wanna make new friends but I’d be too shy. And my biggest fear is sitting alone at lunch! I don’t know what to do. I wanna fit in, I don’t wanna be that weird girl that everyone talks about ya know? Even though I’m not but people can get a bad impression of you even if they haven’t talked to you.. Well help me on how to make new friends and avoid sitting alone at lunch without looking desperate by asking someone?!
-J
Hey J,
Wondering who you’re going to sit with in lunch is undoubtedly a worry that all us teens face at some point during our school years, especially before pivotal life transitions like going to high school. That apprehension is made even worse when you’re going into high school in a foreign town and are unsure of how you’re going to make new friends.
A big tip is no to limit yourself. Yes, definitely try and decide what kind of girls (and guys) you want to befriend based on your personality and interests, but also don’t become close minded towards befriending people you typically wouldn’t hang out with. Sometimes it can be hard to mesh into a tight knit group, so keeping your options open is a good thing. Similarly, you might think you know what kind of people you want to befriend, then befriend them and realize that they’re not all that they cracked up to be. Don’t rule out any potential friends, period. Who you sit with the first day of school doesn’t necessarily correlate who you sit with the second day, so don’t worry if your ideal group of friends isn’t easily attained right away.
In general, if you keep an open mind and stay friendly and inviting it works wonders! Make conversation with the people in your classes about television, fashion, or even the teacher! Bringing out common interests makes it easier for someone to feel comfortable inviting you into their circle. As long as you keep a genuine smile on, get to know as many people as you can to test the waters, and stay positive, you should have no problem.
Good luck J!

Love&Light,
BH.

7 Responses to “Ask An Heiress: Lunchtime Apprehensions”

  1. Alice July 18, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    Good luck at your new school 🙂
    im sure you’ll make plently of new friends everyone always loves the new kid at school (well at my school we do lol) or your teacher might assign you with someone.

    Anyway my advice: BE YOU, don’t change who you are just to fit in or because someone has said something.

    Good luck 🙂 xx
    @alice_obrien93

  2. sherlock July 18, 2010 at 10:24 pm #

    J, I know what you’re going through. I went to public school my whole life, then highschool came. I’m currently going to a private highschool. No one I knew was going there. I was terrified! I didn’t want to sit alone at the lunch table my first day either. I ende up sitting with a bunch of girls/guys the first week, and realized that I didn’t have that much in common with them. In classes I got to know and befriend many people. I am now sitting with different people during lunch. It’s now sophmore year and I’m still sitting with the same people I connected with. You just have to be open to new things. BEST OF LUCK!

  3. Po July 18, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    Im going into sophmore year at a new school once summer ends, and im really nervous. My biggest fear is lunch aswell, so this article really helped me take a deep breath haha. I love your blog so much! Love you guys 🙂

  4. someone July 18, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    omg i feel the same 😛 thanks for this blog!

  5. Chelsea July 18, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    OMG ;
    Thanks BH I was seriously about to email you guys about this because I’m going to a new school too. & I am SO scared ; / well thanks again BH maybe now I can enjoy my summer without worrying about 1st day!

  6. f3R July 19, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    Wow this helped me so much! I’ve thinking if I should change schools but always back off because I’m afraid of new friendships,and I am unhappy, this helped me a lot, thanks BH 🙂

    xoxo, f3R

    http://agirlandhertrends.blogspot.com

  7. NO. July 20, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

    spellcheck.

Leave a Reply

